Y5 Puberty Cards

Pupils learn that puberty is the name given to the changes that happen to our bodies as we grow from children into adults. They learn that these changes include things that we can see as our bodies grow and change, and things that we cannot see that can affect our moods and emotions and that these changes, although they happen to everyone, can affect each individual differently. They learn that puberty can start as early as 8 years old and is usually over by the time we reach 15. Children are given a series of images with statements which define the different kinds of changes which occur during puberty (including physical and emotional). They are asked to sort these images into four different groups, rearranging them each time and discussing their choices with their partner.

Learning Objectives:

  • PoS - describe the changes as humans develop to old age
  • NaG - learn about the changes experienced in puberty
  • WS - identify scientific evidence that has been used to support or refute ideas or arguments

This resource is available in the below packages.